Anders G. Nordby

Senior Systems Consultant at CGI

TeamCity & Octopack: Octopack not running

Just a quick note in case I ever run into this problem again… Yesterday I was setting up a new project in TeamCity, and I spent hours trying to figure out why Octopack was not running. The project built fine, but there were no artifacts. I kept searching the web for “Octopack not running” etc, to no awail. Finally I inspected the .csproj file of a working project, and compared this to my own. Voila! In the working project, there was a line containing the word “octopack”, while in my project there was none. So, adding this line at the bottom of the .csproj file was all I needed to fix the error:

<Import Project="..\packages\OctoPack.2.0.20\targets\OctoPack.targets" />
7 responses to “TeamCity & Octopack: Octopack not running

  1. Dan 2014-06-12 at 20:53

    I just wanted to say thanks a ton for this post. Like you, it took a ton of digging and had I not found this I likely would have never figured it out.

  2. karolikl 2014-09-18 at 08:23

    Thanks, I had the same issue and because of this post I didn’t have to dig for too long!

  3. Emil Åström 2015-01-08 at 11:12

    Hi,

    I believe this is described here: http://docs.octopusdeploy.com/display/OD/Using+OctoPack#UsingOctoPack-InstallingOctoPack

    It should be enough to add a nuget reference to OctoPack. But I suppose if you do some manual meddling it could fall out of the project file 🙂

    /Emil

  4. zahid 2015-01-22 at 22:24

    Thank you very much. This post is really helpful and it saved my day.

  5. KG 2015-06-09 at 14:15

    For anyone arriving here still. This fix still works, just note that targets has been moved into tools.

  6. Shaul Behr 2015-09-09 at 19:14

    Another big thanks from me. I was stuck on this problem for about 2 hours today, till I found your post!

Leave a Reply

